Believe In Yourself Committee

The Empower Simcoe Believe In Yourself Committee was created over 15 years ago and advocates for people supported by the agency. The Committee provides education regarding the prevention of abuse, understanding one’s rights and empowering the voice of people receiving support from Empower Simcoe. In addition, the Committee reviews and responds to local and provincial challenges faced by people with intellectual disabilities.


The Believe In Yourself Committee feels their ability to advocate is at its best when they hear from others and is always looking for ways they can support the community. If you wish to learn more about the Committee or to share something, please call 705-726-9082 ext. 2286, or send an email to

Self Advocates Council

The 2019/20 Believe In Yourself Committee (l-r): Lynda Larkin, Allison Bobbette, Sharlene Fountain, Melissa Swales, Amy Lynn Findlay, Brian Waring, Jen Paterson, Annie St. Louis and Niki Chaltas. Absent from photo: Danny Sparks and Pam Cudmore